Skin Salvation

Sometimes I think my skin’s confused. I’m already in my early twenties but my skin breaks out like it’s stuck in perpetual puberty. I’ve switched products so many times and have even consulted my dermatologist and still wound up with breakouts even on days when I’m not hormonal or stressed out.

products for my skin

Beauty loot (L-R):Celeteque Brightening Facial Wash, JOHNSON’S® Baby Soft & Shiny Shampoo, Olay Complete All Day Moisturizer with Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Sensitive, Adapalene

My last visit to the dermatologist was like a wake-up call. She saw that I still had acne and hyperpigmentation (scarring) even after prescribing an anti-acne cream so she wrote me a lengthy prescription.

I was advised to go back to using baby shampoo and skip the conditioner. I was also told to change up my diet by limiting/eliminating high GI food. Knowledgeable of my sweet tooth and affinity to chocolate, she told me to limit my daily chocolate intake to 2grams, even if it’s dark chocolate. That’s less than half a serving! BOO.

As for products, I was told to continue using the anti-acne cream she prescribed and try Celeteque. For my skin’s sake I followed her advice. I’ve been doing all this for a couple of weeks now and my skin has been doing great. My scars are lightening and the acne has diminished. Finally! My skin has stopped rebelling.

Downloads21

Ohmy. A “selfie”

For added measure, I’ve been taking green tea everyday and skipping makeup (When I say “makeup,” I simply mean mineral foundation and eyeliner). I just apply moisturizer with sunscreen and lip balm and I’m good to go. My skin needs to breathe after months of suffering from stress and pollution and summer’s the perfect time for a skin detox (or an anything  detox for that matter).

You know how everyone tells you to slather on sunscreen? Listen to them. I’m one of those girls who love to walk under the sun, not seeking shade, then complaining about my skin becoming darker (I’ve always been envious of fair-skinned gals). I have now made it a habit to apply sunscreen everyday. I may not have cared before but I have to care now. You don’t know when those signs of aging will creep up on you.

I’ve never been happier about how my skin looks. Stress will definitely take its toll on my skin once my workload starts piling up, but I don’t think my skin will revert to its ugly state. I already have a good and effective skin regimen that I follow religiously. Who knew that I didn’t need fancy products to salvage my maarte skin.

REMEMBER: Cleanse. Moisturize. Protect. 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

