22

22 (1)

22

Ramones cut-up top, thrifted || bandage skirt, Forever 21 || bag, borrowed from sister

As a musicphile, I have the tendency to channel my emotions through the songs I listen to, paying close attention to the melody, moving from lyric to lyric. If the song sticks, I end up making it my anthem. It can be my anthem for the night, the year, even my life. Usually my anthems are from bands like Anberlin, He is We, and Fall Out Boy. And, I’m the one who personally picks out my anthem.But, with 23-year-old Taylor Swift’s release of her latest single, “22,” I had my friends picking out this year’s anthem. It was Mithi’s idea and when I checked the song out, it stuck. Taylor Swift got me on her first verse.For those who don’t know, I turned 22 last month so the rise of T. Swift’s song is timely. Also, it’s the 22nd year most of my close gal pals (Hello, 1991 babies) and I believe we all could relate to at least a line or two from 22.

22 (2)
The cheesy 22 sign and my contortive pout/smirk. Awkward but to hell with it.

Anyway, on to my outfit. I went for a band shirt (the thrifted Ramones shirt again) paired with a black bandage skirt and black suede oxfords. I got inspiration from one of the outfits Taylor Swift was wearing in the video, specifically the one wherein she wore an oversized statement shirt, black shorts, and boots. This was what I wore on one of our errand days, which included going to the mall.

It isn’t as hipster-ific as T.Swift’s outfit in the video but it was enough to get the song playing in my head. A skirt is very girly for me, even if it’s a plain black one, that’s why I added menswear-inspired pieces like the shoes and the watch for a more balanced feel. I’m already 22 and I still refuse to dress up like a proper lady. The boy in me won’t let me, I guess.

We’re happy free confused and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical, oh yeah
Tonight’s the night when we forget about the deadlines, it’s time…
I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22. 😉
Leave a Reply

